Toque d’Or through the years

Having celebrated 32 years, Nestlé Professional Toque d’Or® is delighted to continue being recognised as an influential training and development initiative.

Throughout the years, Toque d’Or® has used real-life challenges to showcase the breadth of career opportunities the hospitality industry has to offer and inspire the next generation of talent. It is this passion towards hospitality excellence that makes Nestlé Professional Toque d’Or® so unique.



The history of Toque d'Or


The Nestlé Professional Toque d’Or® college competition began in 1989. In 2017 we opened the competition to apprentices, as they too are participating in a first-class structured programme. Toque d’Or is a highly prestigious catering competition and it’s unique for focusing on both BOH and FOH, students and apprentices. The competition has evolved significantly since its inauguration in line with the changing needs of the UK foodservice industry and education.


Toque d’Or® presents the opportunity for competitors to follow in the footsteps of some of the finest talent in the profession including Jamie Oliver, James Martin and Anton Mosimann, all of whom were previous participants. James and Anton remain big supporters of the competition together with other celebrity chefs such as Brian Turner, Paul Gayler, and James Tanner.


Upon entering, Toque d’Or® competitors are exposed to challenges that aim to educate and test in a number of areas. From presentation skills to nutritional knowledge, these challenges will give them valuable hands-on experience at every stage of the competition. On top of all this, those taking part in Toque d’Or® will also have the opportunity to work with and learn from a number of leading industry chefs and businesses.


Find out more about the Toque d’Or Journey and discover more about this exciting experience from Toque d’Or competitors themselves.

Roll of honour

Our roll of honour shows the select few students, colleges and apprentices that have won the prestigious Toque d'Or award since it began.

Students and Colleges

2020 FOH Alex Dick, City of Glasgow College

2020 BOH Katherine Altham, Kendal College

2019 University College Birmingham

2018 City of Glasgow College

2017 University College Birmingham

2016 University College Birmingham

2015 Westminster Kingsway College

2014 City of Glasgow College

2013 South West College

2012 Westminster Kingsway College

2011 University College Birmingham

2010 University College Birmingham

2009 North Devon College

2008 Carlisle College

2007 Blackpool & The Fylde College

2006 South Trafford College

2005 Westminster Kingsway College

2004 Carlisle College

2003 Sheffield College

2002 Neath Port Talbot College

2001 Neath Port Talbot College

2000 Glenrothes College

1999 Southampton City College

1998 Glenrothes College

1997 Bournemouth & Poole College

1996 John Wheatley College

1995 Thanet College

1994 Motherwell College

1993 Colchester College

1992 Thanet College

1991 Brunel College of Technology

1990 Motherwell College

1989 Brighton College of Technology


2020 FOH Chelsie Robinson, The Cross Keys Stow

2020 BOH Lily Stock, Boodles

2019 Drew Dawson, The Ned

2018 Mateusz Hnatowski, Restaurant

2017 Charlie Stockwell, Galvin la Chapelle

2016 Luka Seddon, CH&Co